St. James & St. John Church of England Primary School A village school in the heart of the city 4 Craven Terrace, London W2 3QD Tel: 0207 504 0535 E-mail:
St. James & St. John Church of England Primary SchoolA village school in the heart of the city 4 Craven Terrace, London W2 3QDTel: 0207 504 0535E-mail:
-> Click here to log in

St. James & St. John Governing Body

The three critical functions of the Governing Body are to provide a strategic overview, to act as a critical friend and to ensure accountability.


School governors are drawn from different parts of the community and can be parents and staff or from the Local Authority, the community and other groups. This helps ensure the governing body has sufficient diversity of views and experience.


The governing body has a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement.


Its responsibilities include,  but are not limited to:

  • setting targets for pupil achievement
  • managing the school's finances
  • making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based
  • appointing staff
  • reviewing staff performance and pay.


In a Church of England School the Governing Body is comprised of Foundation Governors who are appointed by different arms of the church, Elected Parent Governors, Elected Staff Governor, Local Authority Governor, and Head Teacher. It is possible for the Governing Body to co-opt other people onto its membership.


Governing Body Membership

The usual term of office for a governor is 4 years. The dates below indicate when each governor was appointed/elected.

Foundation Governors

  • Mr Andrew Garwood Watkins , Chair, Deanery Synod Rep-Appointed 29/11/16
  • VACANCY The Westminster (Paddington) Deanery
  • Father Paul Thomas, Vicar of St. James's Sussex Gardens-Ex-officio      
  • Father Stephen Mason, Vicar of St. John's Hyde Park-Ex-officio 
  • Mr. Howard Goldsobel, London Diocesan Board for Schools Rep-Appointed Dec 2015
  • Mr. Martin Tinsley, St. James's Church PCC Rep-Appointed Jan 2013                          
  • Ms Lyn Meadows, The London Diocesan Board for Schools-Appointed Sept 2015
  • VACANCY - St John's Church PCC representative 


Local Authority Governor

  • Ms Amy Harker

Elected Parent Governors

  • Mrs Gabriella Otty-Appointed June 2019
  • Mr Manolis Nerantzis- Appointed May 2016

​Staff Governors

  • Mr Mark Hewitt - Headteacher  Ex-Officio
  • Miss Laura Place- Teacher




Mr Kevin Phillips


All governors can be contacted via the school. 


Governors Committees and Membership



Print Print | Sitemap
© St. James & St. John CoE Primary School, 4 Craven Terrace, London, W2 3QD